top of page
Hiawatha trail 2.jpg

Shoshone county

Shoshone County includes a handful of small towns, including the most prominent ones: Kellogg, Wallace and Mullan. Nearly 14,000 people call Shoshone County home. Shoshone County is a narrow valley of about 40 miles in length, east of Coeur d’Alene. The South Fork of the Coeur d’Alene River flows through the valley and Interstate 90 cuts through the valley between the Fourth of July Pass to the west and Lookout Pass on the Montana border.

Important links

Hiawatha Trail.jpg


I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

People can enjoy a wide array of outdoor activities throughout the year, including camping, hiking, biking, boating, skiing/snowboarding. Hunting and fishing are popular pursuits too.  Lookout Pass and the Silver Valley Ski Resort are popular destinations. In addition, the Route of the Hiawatha provides bicyclists an amazing 15-mile hiking/biking trail.

Shoshone County was established in 1864, named for the Native American Shoshone tribe. Shoshone County is known as the Silver Valley for its rich and colorful mining history in the late 19th century. The mines produced silver, lead and zinc, which fueled the regional economy for decades.  As the mining economy faded, tourism emerged as a large economic driver.


bottom of page